Madeleine/Turrell project

National heritage & contemporary art

The Madeleine/Turrell project concerns the promotion of national heritage through restoration and enhancement. A world-renowned contemporary artist will work on the Eglise de la Madeleine along with architects and urban planners from the city of Paris. The project relies on joint private/public funding, but also the cultural blend of an historic place with a contemporary artwork, a complementarity which will bring life back to both this prestigious monument and its famous square.

The square will once again be one of the most beautiful in Paris. It will be a prestigious square, at the heart of the Quartier Royal/St Honoré/Grands Magasins neighbourhoods where both economic activity and tourism are more vibrant than ever. The Eglise de la Madeleine will take on a new appearance, that of a Parisian landmark, thus contributing to the national and international influence of Paris.

The project is based on a series of complementary actions : the restoration of the Eglise de la Madeleine and the artistic work of contemporary artist James Turrell*.

*James Turrell is the artist who has accepted to work on this project. He is known for his work with space and light, and was recently awarded the National Medal of Arts by the President of the United States. This façade project will be his second in Paris. He also lit up the Caisse des Dépôts building for the Nuit Blanche event in 2007, placing large luminous works on the façade. His interest in perception brings together artistic spirituality and sensory experience, and holds the promise of a major, unprecedented public artwork.

Restoration and illumination project

Interior and exterior restoration of the Madeleine Church

Estimated cost: €12 000 000 

Installation of a contemporary artwork

Cost: €3 000 000 

TOTAL ESTIMATED COST: €15 000 000

Le projet "Madeleine-Turrell"

Patrimoine historique et art contemporain

Le projet Madeleine / Turrell s’attache à la promotion du patrimoine, sa restauration et sa mise en valeur. En effet, un artiste contemporain de renommée internationale, associé aux architectes et urbanistes de la ville de Paris interviendra sur l’église de la Madeleine. C’est sur la complémentarité du financement privé/public, mais aussi culturelle entre art contemporain et patrimoine historique, que repose le projet, qui redonnera vie à un monument prestigieux et à une place mythique.

Cette place redeviendra une des plus belles de Paris, une place de prestige, au cœur du quartier Royal / Saint Honoré / Grands Magasins dont l’activité économique et touristique est plus vivante que jamais. L’église de la Madeleine revêtira donc un nouveau visage, celui de « landmark parisien» participant au rayonnement national et international de Paris.

Le projet s’appuie sur une succession de gestes complémentaires: la restauration de l’église de la Madeleine et l’intervention artistique de l’artiste contemporain James Turrell.

James Turrell, l’artiste de l’espace et de la lumière récemment décoré du « National Medal of Arts » par le Président des Etats Unis, a accepté de travailler sur le projet. Cette intervention magistrale sera sa deuxième à Paris. Il a en effet éclairé la Caisse des Dépôts à l’occasion de la Nuit Blanche 2007, en apposant de grands tableaux lumineux sur la façade. Ses « architectures de la perception », comme il nomme lui-même ses œuvres, alliant la spiritualité de l’art à l’expérience sensorielle sont la promesse d’une intervention majeure et inédite dans l’espace public.

Projet d'intervention

Restauration intérieure et extérieure de l’église de la Madeleine

Coût estimatif : 12 000 000€ 

Installation d’une œuvre d’art contemporain

Coût : 3 000 000€ 

COÛT TOTAL ESTIMATIF : 15 000 000€